Site icon The Royal Watcher

Sultan of Pahang elected King of Malaysia

Sultan Abdullah Ria’yatuddin Al Mustafa Billah Shah, The Sultan of Pahang has been elected as the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King of Malaysia), after a meeting of the Conference of Rulers on January 24th in Kuala Lumpur. The appointment comes after the unprecedented Abdication of Sultan Muhammad V earlier this month (the first since Malaysia’s Independence in 1957), and the Accession of the new King to the Sultanate of Pahang on the 15th, after his ailing father’s Abdication. Malaysia is the world’s only rotational monarchy, where the Hereditary Rulers of Nine of the Malay States are elected as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) for a 5-year term by the Conference of Rulers. The new King and Queen Azizah Aminah will be sworn-in on the 31st.

On January 29th, the newly ascended Sultan of Pahang appointed his wife, Tunku Azizah Aminah, as the Tengku Ampuan (Sultanah) of Pahang, and his eldest son, Tengku Hassanal Ibrahim, as the Crown Prince (Tengku Mahkota) and the Regent of Pahang ahead of his Installation as the King of Malaysia on the 31st.

Exit mobile version